Nouveau Realisme Oil Paintings

Nouveau Realisme

Nouveau Réalisme is a movement comprising those artists who, along with critic and theoretician Pierre Restany signed the founding declaration on October 27, 1960 in Paris: Arman, François Dufrêne, Raymond Hains, Yves Klein, Martial Raysse, Daniel Spoerri, Jean Tinguely und Jacques de la Villeglé. César, Mimmo Rotella, Niki de Saint-Phalle, Gérard Deschamps and Christo joined the movement later.

The members set themselves the goal - and in this they certainly were in accord with representatives of American Pop Art - of shattering the lofty status of visual art and, in rejecting abstract art informel, of integrating the reality of everyday life into art using new techniques and materials. They thus made a significant contribution to the development of object art and the early forms of actionist art.

Read More


There are no products to list in this category.

Sign Up For Email Updates